Two Syllables Volume Eight

by First Word Records

supported by
  • Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

     £5 GBP




The eighth instalment in our Two Syllables Compilation series. This is a snapshot of what's been going on at FW in 2012 and what's coming in 2013.

Starting with Marc Mac's Steve Miller-fuelled remix of Homecut's 'Time Difference', we then move on to a track from new signing Tall Black Guy - his debut album will be out on FW in 2013, but for now check out his inspired flip of James Brown's I Feel Good - banging!

Souleance provide 'Strongest Love', the first track released from their soon-come 'La Beat Tape' - out in February. Ariya Astrobeat Arkestra have had a fantastic year, and we've picked one of our favourite tracks from their 'Towards Other Worlds' LP - Blood In The Water.

Wah Wah 45s don Scrimshire provides his deep jazzy remix of Debian Blak's 'The Idiot Stem', followed by a new track from kidkanevil with the off-kilter beats of 'Yuki's Theme'. Next up is another new signing - Berlin based producer Comfort Fit. Nitro is the perfect introduction to his idiosyncratic beatmaking style. Another truly unique artist is the incomparable Yosi Horikawa. Exclusive to this compilation is a remix of the title track from his 'Wandering' EP, from one of our favourite artists of 2012, the magnificent Rough Fields.

Next up is our last newbie - London-based afro-funk group The Fontanelles. Look out for a 45 from them in spring - and make sure you check their live shows - stunning! Border Crossing's Dream On, taken from their 'Just An Ode' EP, is a sun-kissed reggae treat - even in the depths of winter. We finish up with a trio of remixes, Keep Up!'s Lopez re-rubs Herma Puma's Royal Flush, Hyperdub's LV take on Essa's 'Panache' and newcomer Future Wildstyle adds a rolling refix of Frameworks' 'Vanish'.

This is our Christmas present to you - consider it a thank you for taking the time to check out our music in 2012. We'll be back in 2013 with more great music, till then, Merry Christmas, and a very happy New Year!


released 21 December 2012

Compiled by DJ Gilla
Artwork by DJ Gilla



all rights reserved


feeds for this album, this artist